CPD23: Thing 5 Reflection

What an excellent (and right sized) post from Natalia (she’s a normal, human, librarian). I opened several others and the reems of erudite offerings made me what to quit reflective practice immediately!

In the spirit of #cpd23 I also discovered another blog on reflective practive from Solo Librarian.

Firstly I just want to say, that for the first time e-ver, I have Googled myself. I was mildly concerned at my online presence, but it is all in the interests of Professionalism, so what will be will be. Secondly, I want to say that I seem to have spent the entire first half of 2011 just waiting. Waiting for a restructure at work, waiting for my new role to start, waiting for Bethan’s book to be released, waiting for a man(!), waiting for my kids to get through their respective SAT’s, GCSE’s and AS level exams, waiting for my youngest sons last baby tooth to fall out so that he can get braces, and waiting for July 20th to herald the end of doing the blimmin’ school run.

1. Recall it: this could be an event you’ve participated in, a project group you’ve been part of, a workshop you’ve delivered, an enquiry you’ve responded to…

2. Evaluate it: Take some time to consider these questions
What did you learn?
What did you enjoy?
What worked well?
What, if anything, went wrong?
What would you change?
What (potential) impact could this have in your workplace?

3. Apply it: Take some action. What can you practically apply from the experience you’ve had?

The main thing I have taken from this is that it is not sufficient to reflect, you must also apply some action!

Previous reflections and a schedule I’m likely to adhere to here and here.

One thought on “CPD23: Thing 5 Reflection

  1. Pingback: Oh no did I miss a week? Thing 5 – Reflective Practice | Christina Harbour

Leave a Reply

