9 thoughts on “So long and thanks for all the fish…..

  1. Hello – commiserations on losing part of your job. I remember well the article you wrote for me for CILIP Gazette some time ago and how enthusiastic you were about your role.
    (Of course I’ve recently lost a huge chunk of my work – Gazette – but contrary to how I thought I’d feel, it’s been great).
    Good luck and keep up the good work with HVCats.
    Debby

  2. I’m very interested in your new role. I’ve done a lot of work with outsourcing digital image creation and metadata work. Maybe I can help with the transition cause I know what it feels like.

    • Hi Christine, thanks for your comment. My new role will be moving away completely from metadata, other than ‘measuring’ staff competency in that task area. Yes I’ll be one of those monitoring types. And if anyone is interested in how we’ll be measuring cataloguing/resource description, I’ll be talking about that no doubt over on HVCats.
      Good to hear from you :0)

  3. Hi – As for what I’m doing now, much more writing, which I’m enjoying. Not enough time for it before. But my income’s shot to pieces – gone from pretty big to very poor – so I need to work on that!

  4. Moving into management is scary, not least because you’ll have been used to being “one of us” and you’ll discover that you’ve turned into “one of them”. I’ve been “one of those monitoring types” for a long time now and it does bring its rewards. You’ll still need all your technical skills and knowledge but you’ll have to be able to talk about them, explain them and pass them on; which is often harder than doing them yourself. I think you’ll find that you enjoy it!

    • That makes really good sense, thank you for this. I have been management throughout my metadata role, but this is a pure people management role. I had already dealt with the becoming one of ‘them’ thing especially as I had ‘leapfrogged’ my previous functional manager when I was offered the role. This however, is a role that is definitely open for a lot more flack! I hope that I do enjoy it. Your comment has been uplifting so thank you again.

  5. Just wanted to say that this sounds like it must have been a really difficult change, but you also sound like you’re coping really well with it all. Good luck with everything, and hope you stay positive 🙂

Leave a Reply

