Chartership – how to?

Firstly, just want to say thank you to Bethan in her blog about Chartership, as someone who would seriously consider doing it, it was informative and ‘real’!

I’m pleased to see that the Cilip course (Career Development Group West Country and Devon & Cornwall Divisions)  Preparing for Chartership and Certification is being held on Friday 11th June 2010 at the University of Plymouth (my home!). Quoting the South Western news letter, the purpose is to give new candidates an understanding of the process and regulations.

This is a fantastic opportunity to network (if you fancy a coffee give me a shout) and ask questions before or whilst embarking on the Certification or Chartering process.  I strongly recommend reading Bethans Information Professional blog post, and for more information on this course, you can contact ellen.buck@falmouth.ac.uk

Currently I’m delving into the whole premise of Professionalism; what it means, how to do it, with a range of resources that I’ve had to hand from a previous life (Information Service manager) as well as within my new library role. It was really interesting to see Susie Kay’s article in this months Gazette A smarter way to work – with subtle hints and tips, as well as real term responsibilities and issues. I may indulge in a purchase of her book Professionalism: the ABC for success  ISBN 9780956540102

2 thoughts on “Chartership – how to?

  1. Thanks for the link, and really pleased to hear you found my blog post useful! I would (as you can probably tell) encourage you to go for Chartership. I think it can be a very valauable process.

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do! And very interesting to see you’ve been reading Suzie Kay. I’ll be in her talk at the NPC conf on Monday, and I’m looking forward to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

