“We’re going to make a gum!”

Classification and often the application of metadata is all about initiative as much as skill. I feel that having come to the library world as a mature professional (as opposed to straight from library school), I am perhaps slightly more traditionalist than some of my colleagues. I am immersed in the stereotypical image of the librarian, the importance of the physical text, and the reverence of the environment! Or am I? I fully appreciate the skill of tasks such as classification and the application of AACR2, but I wonder if the execution of initiative and some ‘thinking outside of the box’ isn’t just as important, or is in fact a greater skill in 21st century librarianship?

I work for ‘The Enterprise University’ and I believe we should all exercise a little enterprise; be more dynamic and enthusiastic about our craft.

Leave a Reply

